2020 Hall of Fame

CONGRATULATIONS to our 2020 WYHS Alumni Hall of Fame Inductees: 

Mike Adkins (1987) is a lifelong Whitehall resident and current President of Whitehall City Schools Board of Education.  Adkins has served of the board of education since 2009 and also serves on the Whitehall Parks & Rec Commission (since 2013) and has served on the Dangerous and Vicious Dog Board for Whitehall. A longtime civil servant of Whitehall, Adkins began coaching basketball for the Whitehall Youth League in 1986. Since then, he has coached soccer, football, softball, and baseball for various teams and leagues within Whitehall. His continued dedication and service to his community earned him the Whitehall Citizen of the Year award in 2009. Mike lives in Whitehall with his wife, Lori, and his children, Grace and Mike.

Adrienne Jordan (`1993) was the Valedictorian for the WYHS Class of 1993 and a three-sport athlete participating in volleyball, basketball, and track.  She holds the school women’s track record in the long jump and 4x400 relay. Jordan was awarded the Glenna R. Joyce Academic Full Scholarship to attend the University of Notre Dame. In South Bend, Jordan walked on to the Notre Dame Women’s Basketball team and participated in the team’s first NCAA Final Four appearance in 1996-97.  After graduation from Notre Dame, Jordan served many different roles during her professional career.  She was a Marketing Manager and Foundations Consultant at General Mills, the Chief of Staff for the Superintendent of Minneapolis City Schools, and Senior Project Manager with the Minneapolis Super Bowl Host Committee (2018-2019).  She has created project planning templates for security and event management that has since been adapted by the NFL and Super Bowl Planning Commissions for future use at Super Bowl sites.

Brian Phillips (1981) is a retired veteran from the US Army where he served as Military Police and with the Criminal Investigation Command (CID) from 1981 to 2006. While in the military, he earned his B.S. in business and A.A. in criminal justice from the University of Maryland, European Campus, Frankfort, Germany. Brian was deployed to Guantanamo Bay, Cuba, after the 9/11 attacks in 2001. There, he served as one of the first interrogators with the Criminal Investigation Task Force (CITF) and conducted 118 interrogations of Al Qaeda/Taliban detainees for prosecution in War Crime Tribunals in support of Operation Enduring Freedom. He retired as the Special Agent-in-Charge of Protective Intelligence at the Pentagon in Washington, D.C., for Secretary of Defense, Donald Rumsfeld. After retirement, Phillips continued his work in intelligence and forensics as a government contractor where his area of responsibility was Asia and the South Pacific. He is currently at MacDill AFB in Tampa, Florida, covering the Middle East, building forensic labs for military theatre.

A welcome reception for the inductees and their guests will take place in the Judy Dobbert-Meloy Media Center at Whitehall-Yearling High School at 6:00 PM.

Nominees were submitted by the general public and then voted on by the selection committee.  To become eligible for the WYHS Hall of Fame, nominees had to have been an alum of Whitehall-Yearling for at least five years.  They also had to display accomplishments in one or more of the following categories: extra-curricular activities, humanitarian pursuits, education, business/career, and service to school/community.